Your Struggle Today Will Be Your Strength Tomorrow – Wumi Olabimtan

Delectable actress and filmmaker, Wumi Olabimtan had an exclusive time out with our correspondent, read more about the tell it all moment below.

image

WHO IS WUMI OLABIMTAN?

Wumi Olabimtan is a Nigerian and a Yoruba lady from Osun state, Gbongan to be precise. I’m a UK based nollywood filmmaker. I went to The Polytechnic Ibadan to study mass communication and later traveled to UK to further my education, I relocated to the UK to start my family and at the same time further my education.

WHEN DID YOU START THE MOVIE JOURNEY?

I started my acting career in 2003 under the umbrella of Wemimo film school in Ibadan and later proceeded to Ayo Oluyemi filmmaking school, where I completed my filming course.

TELL US ABOUT YOUR DEBUT EXPERIENCE?

I had my first appearance in Ayo Oluyemi’s Ologbon Meji, when I was plotted with Saheed balogun and the late Henrietta Kosoko, I was anxious on the set, I felt so terrified because all eyes were on me. I later bursted into tears when I couldn’t remember all the lines given to me due to anxiety. However, Henrietta Kosoko & Ayo oluyemi reassured me that mistakes are allowed on set, everyone on the set applauded me after the scene and that restored my confidence as a new actor.

image

BEING A MASS COMMUNICATION GRADUATE, HOW DID YOUR PARENTS ACCEPT YOUR FILM IDEA AND CAREER?

My parents would not accept at first, I had a close relative in the industry who could have helped my career then but due to the fear of my parent who does not support it, I couldn’t meet him about my interest in acting because there was no way  he wouldn’t tell my parent. I did all my possible best to keep my acting career away from my parent and my relative until when my parent watched Baba wande movie, Ajantala and saw me, I couldn’t deny it anymore, but they warned me not to get involved again. I felt unhappy until Baba Wande convinced my parents to allow me  pursue my goal and promised to do all his best to encourage and support me. Since then, I have seen baba wande as my role model and my father in the industry.

HAVE YOU PRODUCED ANY MOVIE BEFORE?

Yes, I am the producer of ETI (THE EAR), OKETE, AKO ISE(DEADLY ASSIGNMENT), LAGATA and AMUNISIN (THE USER)

WHAT PROJECTS ARE YOU WORKING ON CURRENTLY?

ASHABI IYA AGBA (Written & Produced by me: Directed by Adebayo Tijani.

ALAGATA (Written & Produced by me: Directed by Adebayo Tijani).

AMUNISIN (THE USER) (Written & Produced by me: Directed by Muyiwa Ademola).

ALUMOONI (EPIC MOVIE) (Written & Produced by me: Directed by Muyiwa Ademola).

Expect any of these projects soon.

YOUR WORDS TO UPCOMING ACTS?

My advice to the upcoming actors will be  on focus, as this is the only track to success.  Never be distracted or allow the noise of others depress your talent, but keep doing what will get you closer to where you want to be tomorrow. Your struggle today will be your strength tomorrow.

____

Author: Ayo Adams ( Mrweezy15@gmail.com, 08147091733)

Editor-in-chief : Idris Bello (Emiraltyafrica@gmail.com, 08024701285)

Leave a Reply

