I am in a competition with myself- Tolulope Oke

In this exclusive time out with fast rising producer and actor, Tolulope Oke, We had her sharing the journey so far in the movie industry and her long term aspirations. Read the tell-all interview below


Good day, could you please give us a brief overview of yourself?

My name is Tolulope Oke, a film producer and an actor, I am from Ilobu in Osun state. I have a  christianity background. Studied sociology at the university of Lagos and also Dramatic Arts at the Obafemi Awolowo university.

When did you start professional acting?
It all started in 2005, the first movie  I featured in was Awure Eni produced by Muhydeen Oladapo


What inspired your drive to become an actor?
When I was young, I had always wanted to be a news-caster, but as time flies, I changed my mind and then go  into acting, I had the zeal to express myself through this dynamic art.

Tell us about your training as an actor.

I was trained on the stage and doing live performance was part of the training too.

What is your view about talent and knowledge?
Talent is God’s given gift while knowledge is a craft and research to know more.
Tell us about the movie projects you have been part of, Can you name the total number?

I have featured in couple of movies like Dazzling Mirage, Kurukuru,Kosofe, Orindola, Arewa Okunrin, Jenifa’s diary, Industreet, Eje,Biala, Sunmisola, Alebu, zone222, ogede,ijoba Ominira, Ijoba Ose kan,Ayomi, Isina, Araba, Awuru and more, I have lost count.


What motivated you to becoming a producer?
I just had the drive it is something I could do.



Your first movie production, OMIRAN, enjoyed massive positive feedback, what brought about the story?
Omiran is not my first production, I have produced 3 movies before Omiran. Omiran was my 4th production, the first three were Biala, Eje, Alebumi and Omiran. Different elements were put together for Omiran 

How has the momentum been for you since the production of your first movie?
The  momentum has been great.


Do you see yourself in competition with anyone in the industry?
No No No! I am in a competition with myself. Always trying to become a better person because that is all that really matters 
As a fast rising producer, what are your aspirations?
I just want to keep pushing myself to greater heights. It can only get better.
Which directors would you love to work with anytime soon?
Any good director, I love people with good work ethics.

What’s your take on the issues of piracy, funding and film marketing?
Piracy is killing our industry and I implore the government to kindly help us do something about it 

Who are your role models in this chosen career?
Funke  Akindele for Her Hard work, Genevieve Nnaji for her simplicity, Rita Dominic her style, Mo abudu for her tenacity. These are women I have watched closely while growing up and I am happy they are doing very well in their chosen careers, Tope Alabi inspires me too, I am inspired by her genre of music too. 
Do you see Nollywood growing to the level of Hollywood in ten years time?

Well, everything is in our hands, but you know the state of the nation,in as much as we try to put things in place in the film industry, it practically may not yield neccessary efforts as is expected.

Words to your fans and aspiring filmmakers
To my fans out there, thank you for your comments and critics, they actually finetune us in a way.  To those who are aspiring to join the film industry as writer, producer, actor , makeup, Costumier etc, Don’t stop grinding hard, don’t stop networking and make God the center point of your life.

____
Edited by: Ayo Adams

Leave a Reply

