“Despite Being An Actress,I am A Shy Person”- Oyinade Adegbenro

Fast-rising movie producer and Actress shares her journey in the movie industry, her perceptions and lessons learnt in a recent chat with Ayo Adams.

Read below;
WHAT IS YOUR FULL NAME?

My name is Oyinade Adebimpe Adegbenro
SO,WHAT WAS GROWING UP LIKE?

Growing up was fun.It was one of the reasons why I love travelling. My parent are civil servants so we were always travelling, changing schools and apartments. No permanent friend, you know.

YOUR EDUCATIONAL BACKGROUND ?

I attended Kings Kiddies Private School, Abeokuta ,Able God Group of Schools, Owode Yewa,Ogun state and the Federal Polytechnic Offa, Kwara State.

SO HOW DID THE ACTING THING CAME IN,I MEAN WHAT INSPIRED YOU?

Well I don’t know too but the only thing I can remember is when I was about 7 or 8, after watching a movie, I’ll stand in front of the mirror and mimic a particular character and then tell myself “I can actually do it better” but I was a very shy person so nobody knew I could do anything like that. However, I was an active member of the drama group in my secondary school and that was how it all started.

WHILE DEVELOPING IN YOUR ART,DO YOU HAVE ANY MENTOR YOU WERE LOOKING UP TO OR SOMETHING?

Yeah,Joke Silva and Angelina Jolie

APART FROM ACTING,DO YOU HAVE ANY OTHER BUSINESS?

Yes,I sell ladies’ wears and bags.

YOU SAID ACTING STARTED FROM SECONDARY SCHOOL, IN WHAT YEAR DID YOU HAD YOUR PROFESSIONAL DEBUT?

I had my debut in 2010

IN WHAT MOVIE?

Yemoja.

WHAT PROJECTS ARE YOU WORKING ON AT THE MOMENT?

I am working on my next movie,it is still at the pre-production stage

DOES IT HAVE A TITLE YET?

It has a working title, “Mood Swing”

WITH 6YEARS AND RUNNING IN PROFESSIONAL ACTING, WHAT DO YOU CONSIDER AS YOUR GREATEST PROFESSIONAL SUCCESS SO FAR?

My movie, Yeye Oge was a great success. Considering the way the movie has been accepted despite being my first movie. The movie even got 4 nominations at the Best of Nollywood awards 2016 which include best actor/best actress in a leading role. 

Others are best use of Nigeria costumes in a movie and also,movie with the best production design.

YOU ARE BECOMING MORE SUCCESSFUL AND FAMOUS IN THE INDUSTRY, DO YOU SEE YOURSELF PARTICIPATING IN POLITICS ANYTIME FROM NOW?

Politics keh? No o

LOOKING AT THE CONTROVERSIES TIED TO BEING A CELEBRITY,WOULD YOU ALLOW YOUR CHILDREN TO PICK CAREERS IN ACTING?

Why not? They have their choices to make.

YOU ARE A BRILLIANT AND ATTRACTIVE ACTOR, HOW DO YOU RESPOND TO ADVANCES FROM MALE FANS?

I always treat them with respect and let them know my stand politely.

HOW MANY CRUSH DO YOU HAVE IN THE INDUSTRY?

hmm! zero

*SMILING* TELL ME, I WON’T TELL ANYONE

*grins* Just trying to think if there is any but… Oh Yul Edochie


WHAT WAS YOUR PERCEPTION BEFORE BEING A PART OF THE MOVIE INDUSTRY AND WHAT IS YOUR PERCEPTION NOW?

Before joining, I thought after your first debut you’ll become a star but now that I am inside, I realize it takes a lot of hard work, patience and prayer.

YOUR PHILOSOPHY ABOUT LIFE?

One step at a time! To live a creative life we must lose our fear of being wrong

HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE 2016?

It is an assurance of a better 2017

WHAT IS IN YOUR BUCKET LIST FOR 2017?

Work, and I am thinking of settling down

SO YOU’LL BE SETTLING DOWN WITH AN ARTISTE LIKE YOU IN 2017?

It is all about God’s choice

WHAT IS THAT ONE THING PEOPLE WOULD BE SURPRISED TO KNOW ABOUT YOU?

Despite being an actress, I am a very shy person.
____

Compiled/Published: Ayo Adams 

Leave a Reply

